February 6, 2009

  • Can you see me as a teacher?
    Seriously.

    Perks of being a teacher:

    • I get to teach, which I've always thought about.
    • I get to work with (in this class) technology, video games and robotics.
    • I have the "teacher card" to get all the wimmin'.... "exxxxxxx-cel-lent!"
    • Teachers are well respected in the workforce.
    • I can be that "cool" teacher that's stereotypically displayed on TV and movies. "Okay, class. That test? Rip it up!"
    • I will strictly enforce discipline by emulating Dr. Evil's Shh-ing.

    • I get to write witty comments on their report cards "Though he's B-ing average, he's a pleasure to have."
    • I get to blog about all my experiences as a teacher.

Comments (113)

  • I can't take myself seriously.

  • you are incredibly insightful...you teach but maybe shouldnt be a "teacher" per se

    oh and you are the only reason i ever get on xanga anymore.

  • absolutely.

    yes.

  • I'LL BET HE IS A PLEASURE TO HAVE. DAILY.

  • Sounds like fun

  • i just don't know how you'll be dealing with your students. must be hilarious to think about.

  • all major holidays and summers off!

  • @cbr600 - 

    ESPECIALLY that!

  • we can act out my fantasy.

  • You rack diciprine!

  • do it do it.  i can see it happening. 

    my dad was a teacher at a local college and then he decided to teach at my highschool.  he prefers teaching the younger kids and they all loved him.  i'm sure you'll be great at it. 

  • most of the crazy patients are work are teachers >.<

  • Well, I bet you'd look good in a suit.

  • HAHAH B-ing average. Aw. cute.

    the teacher card does not pull girls.

  • dooooooo ittttt :)

  • I believe in you.

  • mmm.... it doesnt matter if you can see urself as teacher or not... what matters is what you want to do, right? if its bothering your mind so much... then you should definitely try it... hee hee.

  • hmm you could be that handsome cool teacher all the the girls have a crush on. the sort of teacher that makes you wonder 'why the fuck is he teaching ?"

    yess. i can see it.

  • i'd sleep with you for an A.

    and by A, of course I refering to your A-hole.

  • life is all about experiences. you should do it and see if you like it.

  • Hide the children!  Hide the children! =D

  • yes u can!! xP

    just dont fool around with ur students !!lol

  • Doooooo ittt.

  • Uhm.... the pay is crap, the unions suck, and frankly, you have to be very organized to be a teacher. Still want in?

    Think over protective parents who can't stand to see their children fail, even if the kid can't read and is in 4th grade.

    Go there.

  • i think you'll do great as a teacher. it'll be an interesting class lol

  • You get way more time off than you do with most other jobs.

    Also. I think you'd make a good teacher. Hahaha.
    A bit of a crazy one... but a good one.

  • You would make a good teacher...teach us about sex!!

  • soooooo how old are these kids you are teaching?

  • What grade, exactly? Uhm..I don't know.

    If I was a teacher, I'd be those underground party femmes. haha!

  • ahahhaha. I would like you as a teacher, honestly. :d you'd be the "cool" teacher.

  • shhht.

  • hahah franks comment is funny =) do it man do it =) ud be the world class teacher everyone talks about.

  • yes!

    :: insert witty comment here about you being a teacher ::

  • Shhhh... hahaha

  • I thought you said education was overrated, you hypocrite.

  • omg keep all the kids away from chris! you're gonna be bad influence!

  • Depending on where you werk, you can count on low pay, second jobs, and.. oh yeah.. lots of vacation!

  • yes! you'd be the cool teacher whose class everyone would want to take =)

  • You also get a Thanksgiving Holiday, Christmas/New Year, Spring Break, a couple months of summer, plus random public and school holidays thrown in throughout the year while getting paid. Definitely something to be happy about.

  • yeah go for it..
    no more what if?

  • you don't have the dishaprin.

  • I love all your post...

    My facial muscle hurt--when I laugh (because of all the jokes and pictures youve been posting here)

    goodnight

  • mm, i keep seeing this "teachers get summers off" thing...if only that were always true! it's called "summer school"...there is also "saturday school"--both being for students of the remedial nature. yes, they're the most fun. haha?

    didn't you complain to me once about your tutoring? think that times 1300...plus plus! :P sooo, where's your list of negatives, then??

    p.s. i think you have definite potential.
    teaching is quite the calling. you need to love it to survive&thrive...you and all those you'd be mentoring..wow, slightly scary thought! ;) jkkk

  • Teaching elementary kids ?
    Not sex ed right LOL :P

  • I always think of clever things to say, like the Dr Evil Shhhhh, and it seems like it never gets said, probably because as a substitute, my audience keeps changing.

  • I could see that! Is the pay an obstacle?

  • And don't go breaking the hearts of your female students!.

  • You being a teacher? You kidding me? :D

  • Toyed with the idea myself not too long ago.
    I CANNOT imagine u as a teacher! lol.
    your students would all add (and tag) u on facebook.
    imagine that.

  • Don't become a teacher. Don't do it! DON'T DO IT!

    Or at least do it in a good school district.

  • shh!ing is a skill that EVERY teacher should have; and the last excuse = excellent!

  • im telling your chris...if i can pull it off...so can you...dare i say you can come by MY school to watch me make an ass out of myself...

  • Teachers have my upmost respect no matter what,
    though lowly paid but are highly regarded.
    My husband is some credites from getting his Bachelors in English,
    it's been a dream for him and will continue to get his Masters
    while still serving with the USAF. YUP!
    Well honestly, if you do plan on fulfilling this dream unless it's just a rant,
    then I wish you luck and plenty of time for term papers and such.

  • I love the shh-ing technique!

  • Too bad you are in this decade. This decade teachers can't say what they want when they teach; they can't even teach what they want. This decade, administrators walk in classes every day to 'check' and demand lesson plans for everything to see if teachers are following the non-negotiable curriculum to the 'T'. This decade, teachers are told what to test and when to test it and the data is instantly, publicly evaluated to determine if they did, in fact, teach what 'the powers that be' determine must be taught. In this decade of the 'Planned Learning Communities', the mediocre teachers reign (with any innovation requiring effort or time getting outvoted). Rogue teachers, who secretly deviate from the team by actually doing something creative and fun (that the rest of the teachers voted not to do) are called on the carpet because they are not a team player.

    And respect? Where? Teachers work their tails off in constant 60-hour work weeks and have students who treat them like dirt...and get away with it because the administration refuses to be punitive ('it might hurt their self esteem'...or 'a parent might go over their head to the district if their baby is punished'...or 'it might look bad on the school statistics if their office referrals are high'. Then there are the parents. You know, the parents, who back up their child and blame the teacher. You know, the ones who do nothing to help their child at home, but insist teachers tutor them individually for free when they fail. You know, the ones, who want their child to be the exception and bully the teacher by threatening to call the superintendent if their baby doesn't get special requested privileges that they made perfectly clear in a documented letter at the first of the year. You know, the ones that are angry when their child doesn't get an A when over half the class deservedly made an A,... demanding a conference with the teacher and principal over those grades.

    And blog about it?...it's a law suit. You'll end up on the news, fired!

  • i think you're already a teacher- you just didn't know it- or maybe you knew it and pretended not to... teachers do that a lot too! seriously... i think you've been a teacher as long as i've been reading you....

  • Will you teach elementary, middle, high school, or university?

    If you enjoy writing comments on report cards, such as, "Ma'am, he's B-ing average" with a smiley face, then teach at the lower levels.

    Anyway, a M.A. and/or PhD is required to teach in colleges.

    Furthermore, depending on the type of school you'll be teaching at as well as its demographics, population, and environment, who knows if your students will be keen on learning; what if the school is so poor that it doesn't have any of the tools you aforementioned?

    It's a fun prospect, but a demanding job that entails a low-salary and mediocre settings. Envision yourself eating in the teacher's lounge, day-in and day-out getting up at 7 in the morning, attending meetings, planning schedules, and being amongst hundreds of hormonal, self-conscious, obnoxious teens--Does it sound like your cup of tea?

    If I were you, I'd teach at the university level because funding is present and the students are mature (maybe).

    Although I sound pessimistic about teachers, I plan on becoming one myself. I'll teach at the lower levels, or university, depending on job offers and availability. I don't know if I want to teach American students, though.

  • I think you could do it if you really wanted to, as long as you didn't teach class with a hood up and a ganster-esque pose.

    I'm going to major in music ed and be a teacher =]

  • As long as you don't have to mark, I say go for it. Marking is hell!!

  • @idanou - 

    You raise some good points. It's fortunate, however, that aside from all these obvious deterrents there are still teachers who teach. I feel your post is directed at the public schools, and not to the private institutions that receive non-governmental sources of financial support.

    In fact, if I had a choice in the matter, I'd send my child to a private school where learning is more than just about exams. The important thing is: Where our kids will enjoy receiving a quality education.

    So, perhaps he should teach at a private school; however, those jobs are tough to come by, since you have to have excellent credentials. Correct me if I'm wrong.

  • As a teacher myself please cross #3 and #4 off your list.

    Thank you.

  • Haha. I think you could do it.

    Just don't come in to your student teaching class hungover.

  • I never considered becoming a teacher but now that I tutor, I love it...and am definitely considering the possibility. Knowing nothing about you, I would have to say that based on this entry alone, you would make an awesome teacher. Go for it.

  • i could see it and it would be AWESOME hahah

  • This can not end well. DO IT!

  • ahahahaha. You should. All the girls will have a crush on you.

  • i need to go to time out with u

  • seems fun
    what age group will you be teaching exactly?
    o__o

  • you're crazy, so you'd probably make a good teacher LOL

  • It's extremely difficult to land a job as a teacher right now in the job market. The newspaper that I read today said that the chances of getting hired for an elementary school teacher was 13% ... the job pool is simply TOO large and the competition is cutthroat.

    However, teachers in the Special Education (Emotionally Disturbed, etc.), Spanish as a foreign language, Bilingual, Mathematics and Physics fields are greatly needed because they're currently scarce. So perhaps you could try that ~ ^.^

    anything beats corporate living, eh? :D

  • @Pearls_of_Trust - Thanks for your comment. I guess you can tell...I do teach in the public schools, but I have known many who teach in private schools and return to the public sector. Although private schools can set their own standards of acceptance, many schools pay less than the public schools and the restrictions and demands of non-negotiables do not come from the district or state, but from their customers. The parents are the customers...and in a business (which that is what private schools are) the customer is always right.

    I actually LOVE teaching. I have won many awards teaching...which I will not enumerate, lest I give myself away, but in every movie based on an excellent teacher who made a difference, there are the other teachers (not as good) who criticize, turn them in for being different, and shun them. The movies are right on target. There are other teachers like me who love to teach. The climate for holding educators accountable in the No Child Left Behind Act, merit pay, etc. is killing the education system and the desire to continue teaching by good teachers.

  • Lol.... I find it funny that there are a lot of people who actually think you're serious about this..... haha... :D

  • yes, actually

  • If you enjoy working with young people and have the patience and compassion to do so, then why not?

    I, myself, am going to school to be a teacher right now. ^-^

    I want to teach English.

  • dooo it! it's kinda fun :)

  • idk...i feel as though that is not a goood idea?!

  • give it a try, if you don't like it, pursue something else later.

  • I'd never send kids your way.

  • what do you mean 'do it to it'?? x

  • ugh
    i cant be a teacher
    hates kids
    hate teens
    hate them even more in groups
    & the teacher card doesnt always work lol
    underpaid, much?

    yeahhh

  • aww I'd take your class

  • are you seriously contemplating a career change?

  • I think you'd be a fun teacher :)

  • long holidays, and they are paid right?
    kids are awesome. and youre pretty awesome so i am sure they will love you

  • If you can have a positive influence on just one student,  you're really not using your time very well.

  • And you can punish and reward at will! or with a stick!

  • I got whoooole bag of SHH with your name on it, Chris!

    Did you miss me?

  • Hm interesting.. I'm going to become a Teacher.

  • LOL...

    Have a great weekend,

    felixcatus76

  • I think you'd be a good teacher. One that all the kids could relate too and liked.

    So I have a question, and you seem level-headed enough to answer it honestly:
    What do guys want for Valentine's Day?

    Besides sex.

  • how can one get an A in your class? you will make the lives of your students so miserable

  • watermarking pictures dont do shiet. everyone uses photoshop these days. they can easily just write over it.

  • Just don't teach high school. All the under age girls are going to fall in love with chooooooooo.

  • go the extra step and take be a junkie teacher like ryan gosling in half nelson

  • HAHA I love this entry. <3

  • i didn't get the "b-ing average" ...
    i had to think about it.

    like i said, with this economy, you should be grateful to have a job offering.
    you should take it. you'd be pretty safe yknow?
    and if its a long island school-- you're set :)
    good luck with your decision.

    wait. what would you teach? like 2nd graders?! LOL hhahahahhaha

  • The real question is, do you see yourself being a teacher?

    It's a tough job. You gotta have patience, be okay with taking the job home with you and once in a while having kids who are going to despise you or crush on you. Madly. and patience. At least that's what my sister tells me.

    However, the perks are tempting. I mean we are only human.

    I'm still trying to figure out what I want to do too, so no need to rush. In life all we have is time. Goodluck with your decision.

  • use the asian grading scale!!!!!!
    A for avg
    B for below avg
    C for failing
    no Ds or Fs!

  • YES be a teacher!

  • As a teacher myself, I don't know if it's exactly the best profession out there. There are days where I'd argue NOT. Haha.

    Although I'd like to continue to think positive and hope for the best...

    Btw, I come by sometimes to read your posts...you may be a good teacher...in the midst of this economy, though, just be ready to teach the inner city. (HA!)

  • shoot for the stars !

  • Sure, why not xP?

  • @jerjonji - 

    thanks for that comment! :)

  • Lol. great post!

  • yeah, you would be a cool teacher.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment