April 22, 2010

  • Confessional Rant Thursdays.

    http://x1f.xanga.com/d42e310b12430266627220/w206188179.gif

    Poor grammar drives me nuts! If I read one more message board or forum where some clown has illiterately declared, "Diz aint none of my thesus why I cants I spell da way I wantz to?!" my head will explode all over my desk and quite frankly, it is not in my budget to replace my computer. But yes, my friend, we know this is not your thesis. Clearly.

    Do you know why we all speak the same standard language? So we all can effectively communicate. The proverbial man isn't trying to hold you down. He's trying to understand what the hell you are talking about. Now, isn't that even more imperative when reading is involved? Don't you want to get your point across succinctly and clearly; especially on the interwebs? Why is it okay for people to believe that you think a 'Z' can replace an 'S', in a word? "Grillz" is not a word, son!

    Don't even get me started on that catastrophe called 'ebonics'. It's called laziness. And it's nothing but an excuse to embrace illiteracy. Thank you, New York Education system.

    P.S. I know it's a real chore to type a period, a hyphen, or god-forbid, a comma. I know, I know, but remember punctuation is our friend. And sometimes, lover.

    P.P.S. Just for the record, I never once thought I was an elitist because I speak and write clearly in full English. I just think you're the bane of society if you truly believe your current grammar is sufficient in today's society.

    Are you a grammar Nazi?


Comments (553)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment