March 22, 2006

  • Features Xanga should consider

    Since
    Xanga's personnel is probably dozing off on their job, I'll do it for
    them. Listen up, this is a one time offer where I'm providing my
    services for free.

    • Post-posting. Not
      everyone has access to the internet 24/7, so why not make it more
      convenient in such a way that the user doesn't have to worry about
      missing a "regular posting" (at that point you may need professional
      help. Kidding.)? If a person has a post pre-typed and wants it to
      automatically publish onto their site at a specific time, they would
      set their "Xanglock" (sounds like a firearm) for the specified time,
      and like Emeril, "BAM!" publicize that posting at exactly 7:37pm est.
      while you're out cheating on your husband/wife.

    • Phone posting. The
      ability for users to phone in and do an "audio post" will make things
      more convenient for those who are on the go and without a PC on hand.
      Great for those who are overseas, or perhaps traveling and want to keep
      friends, family, and their readers updated about being held for ransom
      in Columbia and eating other humans in Australia.

    • Stop eating my posts. One
      of the most prevalent problems on here. Yet, nothing is really done to
      remedy this problem. Sure, the smart thing to do is to copy before
      posting, but we shouldn't have to worry about that happening everytime.
      You almost might want to get rid of that old "bug" mascot. I'm about to
      dropkick my monitor if I see him again. Besides, he looks very
      depressed and sickly.

    • 13 and under means 13 and under. You
      don't realize this Xanga, but almost 15% of your users are under 13.
      Those 13-16 still act like they shouldn't be allowed to check off "over
      13." How about regulating this? Perhaps a Xanga Jr. for those kiddies
      out there, and let us adults enjoy the freedom of having to "watch what
      we say."

    • Ability to hide past posts without privatizing each one. If
      one's been posting daily for 5+ years and decided to privatize 4 years,
      what's s/he supposed to do? Go through each post and tick "private"?
      Hellooooo, carpal tunnel syndrome.

    • Bring back direct linking of profile pics,
      or at least lessen the compression of profile pics uploaded through
      Xanga. I don't enjoy the fact that people will think I have 26.5
      pimples and look 55 with all the "wrinkles" I have through my profile
      pic.

    • Remove most javascript. I
      didn't graduate from MIT with a masters in Computer Science (maybe
      tomorrow, I'm too lazy right now), but if my information is correct,
      this will solve a plethora of problems. Not only will this rid of those
      annoying popups most users hate, but trackers will be a thing of the
      past (you Xangans can stalk freely now), and Xanga "worms" will be done
      with. "All our base" will not belong to "they."

    • Premium users should have the ability to upload ANY type of file,
      not just photos. Music, videos, word documents--give us something
      worthy of the yearly fee. Why Premium only? Because we deserve it.

    • Change the damn emoticons already. Or add some more to the list. Honestly, how many different ways do you need an emoticon to show you're shocked, stunned, and surprised? According to my thesaurus, those pretty much mean the same thing.

      How flamboyant. May as well toss me into a room full of estrogen and call me Sally.

    • Video posting. You'll
      offer something your competitors don't offer at the moment. Be the
      trailblazer. Trust me, people will flock here if you offer that.Youtube
      will be a thing of the past.

    • Developers, developers, developers...
    • Any other ideas, readers? Make Xanga do a better job. Voice up.

    Degrading Sports Photo of the Day

    http://xde.xanga.com/81fb760022c3344002629/b29788480.jpg
    "...and that is how you're supposed to run the bases."

Comments (152)

  • Nay, Xangay, Nay!

  • yay for new xanga features.

  • Anyone who comments "random props" will automatically have his/her site shut down like Chinese Taipei in the WBC.

  • you're ever so thoughtful....

  • shake what yo' momma gave ya

  • wrinkles?  pimples?  WHERE? 

  • BAM!

    xangurr should take all of your thoughts into consideration. carpal tunnel syndrome.

  • ZOMG

    8th!?

    k no.. im gonna read the entry now lol i was just here before u updated.. n u already have 8. dayme

  • will xanga really change just to make YOU happy? :P

  • i don't know.  i like trackers a little too much. if i feel like stalking, i go to facebook or myspace.

  • ahh that was a good post. everything ive ever wanted. :]

    did you by any chance send it to them?

    psh. if they dont have enough room w.o making the site too slow then uh.. maybe they should consider ridding us of those useless features you spoke of.

  • I disagree with you about the remove the javascript. So what if it causes problems, we should have the right to control our page and if we want a stalker tracker then why shouldn't we have one after all YOU DO. Phone blogging sounds so bad, trust me I had a blogger page and when u try and do it over the phone it is severely marked down in quality compared to mics, but i do agree about podcasting. Haha on Tabulas premium users (like myself) are allowed to upload videos, pictures, music whatever and direct link it ANYWHERE and we're allowed to have our own radioblog with 120 something songs hosted ANYWHERE for only $3 a month.

  • ...room of estrogen...hahahahaha!
    ...xanga junior...hahahhahaha!

    You crack me up....

  • Those are seriously really great ideas. Maybe I'll start a new platform.

  • live webcams! haha

  • yeah. You're pretty much amazing with the ideas.

  • oh chris you're so smart

    why don't you work for xanga? ;)

  • I love your xanga. You always seem to have something to say. I very rarely do.

    ~Bipolar Troubles~

  • Damn right us Tabulan and I forgot to mention crossposting to Xanga and Livejournal among other blogs, more emoticons than Xanga could hope to have, 1000 photos is our limit, theres only one downfall and thats lack of support, but if a revolution is started you never know.

  • hey i like those ideas=] funny pic funnier caption =P

  • It's funny how those baseballers don't know how to run.

  • actually, i'd like them to disable background sound/music and embedded contents. waste of bandwidth heh

  • Ricky looks like he's about to crap his pants.

    Dang.

  • And why don't you work for Xanga?  They should totally hire you.  You have some good ideas that I agree with for the most part.  I think Xanga is starting to lose with MySpace...they need to kick it up a bit

  • Ooohhh..I really like these ideas..hahahah...that Balmer video made me laugh. His voice got unusually high pitched in the end. Hahaha.

    Xanga should definitely take your ideas into consideration...it'd make Xanga so much better.

  • She was talking to them over something else that happened. I'll explain some other time. Do you have a yahoo messenger? I can explain without having everyone seeing it.

    ~Bipolar Troubles~

  • the ability to delete or modify comments you've (stupidly) made on someone else's xanga.

  • Yes Chris why don't you work for Xanga? Extra moola ..

    So is that how you do the Cabbage Patch Kids Dance?!

  • , actually i would consider it the stunned, very stunned, and the very very stunned

    only 15%? 0_o, I thought it was alot more *shudders at the thought of those xangas*
    xanga junior sounds very very nice

  • i mean the emo-cons, it didnt paste >_<

  • all valid ideas.

    why does the pic remind me of tracy morgan?

  • Uh i most definitely agree with you there Sally...oh I mean Chris

  • aaawwww you didn't think the emotions are cute??

  • Xanga Junior.  Some 11 yr old kept commenting me until their site got shut down.  I think they were trying to pick me up. (shudder) 

  • great ideas

  • those are the best new things xanga can come out with. theyre 637565 times better than the "title your post (!)" feature.

    you should definitely work for xanga.

    hahahahah funny pic

  • There should be a site IN XANGA to get music from, because it's annoying to fid a site to have it shut down two days later.

  • youtube will never be a thing of the past!

  • shhhh, secret, the haters are actually getting me down so much that i am getting paranoid

  • Bravo!

    Perhaps a photo gallery if they want to compete w/ Myspace. But then again I wouldn't want all those Playboy-wannabees to flock over here.

  • the heart isn't even a really smiley face thing.

  • *real.

  • I could have sure used that ability to privatize all posts when I "shut down" my old Xanga. Oh it's still up, with EVERY SINGLE post privatized so I can go back and read them later on. UGHH. And I'd like that thing to post at a certain time. Good idea you should work for Xanga (and doesn't Xanga centralize in NEw York, like YOU!?)

  • Nice ideas, if Xanga actually listened we'd have so many more members.

  • PREACH,with your new ideas

  • i really like their smiley faces though.. so shocking and surprising.

  • I love all your ideas! Too bad Xanga won't listen! I hate that I pay for Premium and what I get is more Photo Uploads/Storage..BOO! Classic now has most the same features as Premium! I complained and said what is the point to pay when you can get the same thing almost for FREE!

  • hey your really hot!

    my name it tawny comment me back some time

  • i like your posts, but it's not fun to read them when you work at xanga... ok, i'll stop talking now.

  • Dude those are some great ideas.

    How about this one:
    Expanding the options of the audience. I mean, there are some blogs that you don't just want to open to either unprotected or protected. Maybe you want to click on the people you want to see them. I think they should dictate who you want to show your posts.

    And how about not randomly kicking someone off Xanga? Like how angellism was kicked off...

  • i agree on the privatizing fiasco. ugh, you can easily waste a couple hours just going back.

  • funny sports pic.propz

    laterz

    erica

  • My space has better functions of photo viewing.

    And I just noticed I am no longer able to take my AIM sn off the list, =(.  

  • some of those are pretty good ideas.

  • About making everything private at once: I FREAKING KNOW! I mean, I post multiple times a day! What the hell am I supposed to do!

  • that's funny u say MIT, cuz my sister is currently taking classes there.........

    and I agree with you about the uploading.  It's pretty gay that it can only be Jpegs up to 1mb and even smaller room for gifs and bmps........ only 50kb........ thats bullcrap.

  • damn emoticons.

  • good post with good suggestions.  i haven't any new ideas as of yet, but will be thinking of them instead of concentrating on my professor tonight.

  • yes, the privatizing part is annoying as hell.

  • video posting would be cool....  that way i wouldnt have to go to youtube.com to see all of cakalusa's cool video documentaries of his romps in nyc... and perverted disney toys.

  • haha, that guy looks like he's doing the funky chicken dance! 

    i'm too cheap to pay for premium.  the only thing that would make it worthwhile for me is the unlimited photo upload.

  • excellent.

  • myspace already lets you upload videos

  • also, an idea worth trying for xanga.

    they should try seperating people that you subscribe to into groups that are .. whatever, most immediate to you. i.e. friends, family, haters. that way, you get a choice to click on what group list that you're most interested in reading their updates first.

  • yeah a xanga jr. that liek some fucking genious idea there group up all the kiddies in one spot. I know it will do one thing move all the petaphiles from myspace to here.

  • good ideas! but xanga is lazy

  • You know, I have to agree on that Music, and Video posting for PREMIUM users. Seriously, aside from an additional left module, bigger space for pictures, and an ad-less xanga... I really don't feel much of a PREMIUM user here. I need to sound "cooler", and the freedom to upload music and video should be given to me as a paying customer!!! GRRR!!!

  • love your ideas lmao

  • xanga should genetically clone you at least three times. & when i'm bored all i have to do is read the posts.

  • Ryc: yes i will party with you! haha

    anyway...xanga isnt perfect. Just as I think myspace isnt!
    Nobody and nothing is perfect ! I guess its the way it is!

    i like the last picture. so hot! gumm!

  • Xanga Jr! Buahahahaa!

  • u should work for xanga. haha

  • yea, i hate those teenagers who rant about their high school lives as  if they were the most interesting things to write about. they should get a paper and a pen and start a diary.

    i'd help you kill that annoying Xanga bug! ugh.

  • hey chris! :) i love your creative mind haha especially the post-posting feature.

  • haha those ideas are awesome!

    how do u come up with this stuff..

    youmust have alot of free time.. haha =]

  • Great list Cakalusa, but we already have Xanga Jr. It's called Myspace.

    One suggestion that I would like to make is that xanga accounts who have the trial version of Premium should not be listed under the Premium section of the Featured Content. It seems wrong to me when people who have paid for the Premium service are bumped off the list by users who are new to xanga and have found a way to get many eprops.

    I used to think that the removal of javascript would render all xanga trackers useless, but since then, I've thought of a way in which a clever programmer can still have a xanga tracker without relying on javascript.

    Yeah, it'd be great if we were given the ability to upload any type of file we wanted. Come on, we don't pay $25 a year for 2,000 MB of photo space, 100 profile pics, and being listed on the premium section of the Featured Content! We need more bang for the buck, don't we?

  • randoms

  • *slaps sally on the ass*

    just wanted to slap you on the ass. that's as intelligent as i get tonight.

  • oh wait! um, you should work at xanga! just thought i better keep the commentary running!

    oooo, snarky AND brain dead. it's a winning streak all around.

  • Those are some pretty kick ass idea's. Oh, can I swear with all those kiddies out there? I don't care. Shit.

  • They should definitely have the first one you mentioned. That would be great.

  • wow...cakalusa really hates his xanga..

    lol actually i like the support of javascript. it lets you block ads if you dont have premium(which isnt worth buying anyway ^_^ )

    and the worms thing i can normally find my way around the worms...

    but i gotta agree with you with the bugs

    that'd be pretty fuhreakin cool if we could actually audiopost, seeing that it will never happen.

  • yep i agree xanga needs it's own video uploady thingy.

  • for ur information, us australians dont eat other humans. we eat kangaroos and crocodiles.

    and wombats.

  • definitely no javascript would be really nice. plus can we NOT HAVE MUSIC on xanga??! is that too much too ask??

  • haha, wonderful ideas SALLY!

  • i also, say they give us an inbox type thing, where we can message other users, not a whole profile and everything

  • Good post.  I've been checking your site periodically, like when I actually go see who's featured, which doesn't happen too often....

    Yeah, give us premium users something else.  Why should we have to use dropshots or whatever other video loading program that's out there?  Most of which won't work on my computer....

    And if music is going to be allowed, at least give us a way to shut it off!  I hate going to my taskbar and shutting it off, only to totally forget to turn it back on later when I need it. 

  • valid points, why dont you take up the job xanga always seems to be offering? i see you live in NY, perfect! no?

    points i agree with most:

    post-posting
    video posting

    though i am a bit in love with youtub.

  • i wish they haf the "drag-all-pics-in-1-time" thing, so i dun haf to post my pics one by one.

  • i think that everyone you are subscribed to should be added to your friends list or something. its sorta of tedious to have to subscribe and add someone as a friend. i agree that they should offer video posting!

  • CAKALUSA FOR XANGA PRESIDENT!!!!

    I agree with most of what's mentioned above..good ideas

  • post-posting - the perfect alibi

  • i was looking at your old posts.... heheh and you have quite fluffalicious hair!!!
    you have some interesting posts...... no wonder pple are addicted

  • 12 Signs you're addicted to Xanga.

  • how about being able to change the dates on entries? sometimes i want to write about something that migh thave happened 2 or 3 days ago but the fact that the entry date is 2 or 3 days late annoys me. i'm weird like that. also, make the music stop!

  • cheers for reminding me the fact that i havent grown any taller since 5 years ago. T T you left me in tears.

    hoho.

    yea these suggestions make sense.

    especially the privatising one

    everytime when i feel depressed about the past and want to hide them, i go through each one of my posts to privatise them - pretty painful job although i've only been using xanga for 801 days.

    arrrrrrr.

  • I agree with the age thing completely. Kids younger than 13 need to go away, but how can Xanga verify ages? It's just as easy to type in 1987 as it is 1997...and going through the Xangas for clues? I doubt that.

    The stupid bug thing should be gotten rid of, especially for Premium users. How do they expect people to pay for unsatisfaction? (Not that I have Premium heh)

    Lastly, what's wrong with the trackers?

  • LOL!  Someone left me this link in my comments and I'm glad!  This was hilarious, but a few of those are actually really good suggestions!  Actually, all of them are.

  • yeah, speak up....we all need heroes....

  • haha u should just work for those xangers leader. Probably get pay a lot. Anywyas the pic man i love the mets u probably got a really stupid pic of them. I swear they wont run like that in the game

  • What about getting a paycheck for blogging?  Shouldn't Xanga be giving us a cut of the action?  People read my blog, then click on the advertisement at the top, and I don't get a share in the profits?  Bad news.  Xanga thinks we're all stupid. 

    Fork it over, bub.   

  • Wow you should really send those into xanga!! They were good! Xanga is turning into myspace! I hate myspace!

  • If these were the perks, I would DEFINITELY sign up.

  • I agree with those except the first two. If xanga is that much of a priority, even when you have a life and can't be online 24/7, then that is just sad.

  • I REALLY LIKE THOSE IDEAS

  • I THINK ALL YOUR IDEAS SOUND GREAT...BUT NOT AS MANY PEOPLE EVEN USE XANGA...MYSPACE TOOK OVER...

  • Rickey Henderson happens to be the all-time leader in stolen bases...I think he broke his hip in the pic...Live Webcams?...that would be flippin sweet!...I could see it now: "Dormrooms of the Ivy League!"

  • Wow. We are xanga obsessed! Phone posting??! =P

  • Or teleporting system where we can bitch slap eachother in real time mode
    ~ The Bunny
    (,,(
    (=' :')
    (,(")(")

  • Do you ever wonder if people sit there waiting for you to post, only so they can be the first to comment on your ever expanding communications page? It's almost as if people admit to stalking.. So, you should add me back, so I can stalk you even more, such is the ways of a true ninja, only they need not ask permission, however, ninja does not equal hax0rs. in any case, I'm done rambling at you for the day. I look foreward to your next revelation.

    ~adieu

  • this is one of the best and most well thought out lists of features i've read... now, if only they'd implement a few of them!

  • all very good ideas...

  • Yeah, xanga can do a lot better.

    http://www.teamshocka.com

  • this is a great post! i relate i relate i agree!

  • I agree to everything! Maybe you should email this to the Xanga admin =P.

  • you crack me up..
    I think they should hire you to run the whole show.. It's totally messed up!!
    have a great day.

  • it should be easier to play music on our site.

  • lol I concour with most of those.
    Great ideas.

  • You sir, bring up a lot of good and valid points. I agree with all of them. I think the smiley faces should be changed to the kind that are used on a lot of forums. and I use to write a LOT on my entries.. now it's mainly just photography stuff.. but before I use to write all day long.. pages and pages.. and it would PISS me off when I hit submit and that stupid "BUG" would show up saying how there's a bug on xanga and i'd lose my whole damn post. I'd be pissed. and the Xangalock thing is something I was thinking about before.. like maybe putting up a HAPPY NEW YEARS post RIGHT as it hit the new year.. but you werent there to type it ya know? But Im sure a lot of people would set the date for like 12:00am and xanga would probably crash from al lthe users trying to post at the same time.

  • They use all MS IIS servers, sheduled jobs and permissions would be a bitch to set up for post posts, be easier in a u*ix evironment, but it is possible

    Call in blogging would require a pbx type set up and a lot of work on security and authentication. I don't pay, but I've seen people say they pay 25 USD a year....that's not very much money, and I don't think I would go through the trouble of setting up a pbx to allow this for 25 bucks a year.

    The ability to hide posts could be done, simple flag, not very hard, and a good implementable idea.

    Direct linking introduces the ability to violate the TOS too easily, I don't see it happening. Lot's of sites don't allow direct linking because of this.

    As far as the javascript, um...if you don't like it, disable it in your browser...java script is a feature that you select to use on your computer. Why take a feature from the site when you can elect to just not use it? Same with the music people...it's your browser, YOU make it do what YOU want to...sheesh, freaks.

    I don't see why they wouldn't allow the uploads, unless they're worried about the infrigment issues in the TOS, or possible security issues from allowing certain types of files, executables, etc...

    There's just no excuse for the emoticons.

    Video Posting is a great idea, implementable, just space and bandwidth intensive.

    mho.

  • Bring on the video posting!

  • so theres a coldplay concert this sunday i beleive?

    r u goin? i dont think i am. but tickets are still on sale so scoot!

  • nice new thoughts x ] dat woud oh sho be sho kewlioers!

  • Something to allow nonxanga people to comment.  Nothing on here drives me crazier than that.  I realize they are attempting to sucker more people in but come on already.

  • ummmm...who gives a damn bout it!!...lol...confusion as ever...

  • I couldn't agree more.

    :

  • I couldnt agree more

    : )

  • haha. i'm all for that tracker thing. =]

  • hey watz up i was jus passing by and i read ur xanga... INTERESTING IDEAS lol!

  • waz it do u dont no me and i dont no u but im bored az hell so holla at me

    bria_hotttmamma

  • waz it do u dont no me and i dont no u but im bored az hell so holla at me

    bria_hotttmamma

  • does anyone realize that these new updated profile things are just a cheap knock off of Facebook?...they have similar features, i.e. the friend list, but Xanga's is worse...you should run for president of Xanga if there were ever such a position...i'd vote for ya

  • Nice ideas, some of them actually sound good.

  • Freaky stuff. Xanga has been extremely frustrating, but not to boiling degrees yet. Anyway, still love your post.

  • haha... nice.  the emoticons... for sure...i like the estrogen part... and i like my tracker... but i'm a college student... who is on the computer all the time... so of course i randomly stalk... but not too bad :P

  • Hehe... yeah...I just privatized 5 years worth of posts a couple of weeks ago. It took me damned near all day.

  • wad it do wit cha nice site halla back pimp_in_progress

  • fuck new york it,s all about that KC 913

  • Absolutely awesome! %anchor%'s very incredibly great and looks wonderful too. Also fantastic for folks.

  • Hi to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this website, and your views are good in support of new users.

  • I am in fact grateful to the owner of this web site who has
    shared this enormous paragraph at at this time.

  • Saved as a favorite, I like your web site!

  • I'm extremely inspired along with your writing abilities as well as with the structure in your blog.
    Is that this a paid theme or did you modify it your self?

    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it's uncommon to look a great weblog like this one these days..

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment